Volunteer Recognition

The majority of low income people seeking legal assistance in the Sacramento region would be hard-pressed to find representation if not for the willingness of lawyers and other legal professionals who volunteer their time and expertise to the cause of pro bono legal services.

June Black Pro Bono Award

June Black Pro Bono Award To highlight outstanding pro bono contributions made by local attorneys to our community, each year VLSP presents a Pro Bono Services Award to an outstanding volunteer(s). In 1996, VLSP renamed that award the “June Black Pro Bono Award” in memory of June Black, VLSP’s founding Pro Bono Program Coordinator, who spent 17 years developing the provision of free legal services to indigent clients.

Ms. Black enlisted local attorneys to do pro bono work, interviewed thousands of low income clients regarding their civil legal problems, and matched them with volunteers for advice and representation. During her years of service, many members of the Sacramento legal community came to know and admire June for her commitment to seeking justice for indigent clients.

The following are the most recent recipients of the June Black Pro Bono Award:

  • 2018 Sergio Diaz
  • 2017 Jeffrey Galvin of Downey Brand
  • 2016 Irene Tamura
  • 2015 Mark Eggleston
  • 2014 Yoshinori Himel
  • 2013 Mary DuBose
  • 2012 Analea Patterson, Katie DeWitt and John Killeen of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
  • 2011 Sacramento Office of DLA Piper, LLP and Hewlett-Packard Company
  • 2010 Karla Yvette Broussard-Boyd
  • 2009 Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP & Intel Corporation Legal Department-Folsom Campus
  • 2008 Jay Dyer
  • 2005 Danny Moore
  • 2004 James Ward
  • 2003 Ophelia H. Zeff
  • 2002 Virginia Mueller
  • 2001 Helen Paras and Genevieve Paras Repp
  • 2000 Kelly Smith
  • 1999 Borden Webb
  • 1998 Gus Skarakis
  • 1997 Frederic Snowden
  • 1996 Jean Carper and J. Kevin Mendricks
  • 1995 Michael Braun and Gail Gronert
  • 1994 Ted Cobb, Richard Ruderman and Victor Geminiani

State Bar President’s Pro Bono Service Award

For many years, the President of the State Bar of California honored California attorneys who provided
or enabled the direct provision of legal services to indigent Californians. We are pleased that a number
of our volunteers have received this prestigious award for services they have provided to VLSP clients.
VLSP volunteers who have received this award include:

  • Helen Geoffroy
  • Judge James Mize
  • Frederic Snowden
  • Ophelia H. Zeff
  • M. Jane Pearce
  • J. Kevin Mendricks
  • Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP and the Legal Department of Intel Corporation-Folsom Campus
  • Jerry Johnson
  • Peter Brixie
  • Mari Goldman
  • Jean Carper
  • Victoria Jacobs